

OFFICE OF THE LT. GOVERNOR STATE HOUSE INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA 46204-2797

Eric J. Holcomb LT. GOVERNOR

For Immediate Release

June 3, 2016

Lt. Governor Holcomb and Dr. Wernert announce 2016 Golden Hoosier Award recipients

INDIANAPOLIS – <u>Lt. Governor Eric Holcomb</u> was joined at the Indiana Statehouse this afternoon by Dr. John Wernert, Secretary of <u>Indiana Family & Social Services Administration</u> (FSSA) and Yonda Snyder, Director of the Division of Aging, to announce the 2016 Golden Hoosier Award recipients.

The award, which began in 2008, annually honors a group of outstanding Hoosier senior citizens for their lifetime of service and commitment to their communities. The award is considered one of the highest honors given by the State of Indiana to senior citizens.

"The Hoosier values of service to our communities and helping our neighbors is well-represented by this year's honorees," said Lt. Governor Holcomb. "It is truly an honor to recognize this year's Golden Hoosier recipients for the dedication they show their communities and for the tremendous example they set for future generations."

Given annually, eligibility criteria for the Golden Hoosier Award includes being a current Indiana resident aged 65 or older and a volunteer in the community for at least the past three years.

This year's Golden Hoosier Award winners are:

Ron Abplanalp: BatesvilleMary Brooks: Huntington

Richard and Susan Brooks: Michigan City

Ellen Byers: West Lafayette
Marie Caster: Kokomo
David Court: Lakeville
Bettye Green: South Bend
Mary Ellen LaMar: Hagerstown
Anita McCollester: Granger

Wyatt Mick: MishawakaBettye Monks: Winchester

Michael Newton: Indianapolis
Jean Nowaskie: Vincennes
John Place: Richmond
Marylou Powers: Dillsboro
Marilyn Robertson: Ellettsville

William Sisson: Cory

Carroll Vasblinder: Terre HauteNell Warda: IndianapolisMarilyn Waumans: Mishawaka

-30-

Media Contact:

Jake Oakman
Director of Media Relations
Office of Lt. Governor Eric Holcomb
joakman@lg.in.gov
317.234.4258

The Lieutenant Governor statutorily serves as the President of the Indiana Senate and chairs the Indiana Counter Terrorism and Security Council. Additionally, he manages the following agencies of State government:













For updates from Lt. Governor Holcomb and the agencies he oversees, please visit www.lg.in.gov.