MEETING MINUTES

February 23, 2022, 10: 00 a.m. Eastern Time

Indiana Archives and Records Administration

Meeting Location: IGC South Conference Center, Room D

MEETING OF THE OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC RECORDS

2022-02-23-1: CALL TO ORDER

A meeting of the Oversight Committee on Public Records was held on Wednesday, February 23, 2022. The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Jake Speer at 10:00 a.m.

A roll call was conducted to determine members present constituting a quorum: Jerry Bonnet (Designee for Holli Sullivan, Secretary of State), Luke Britt (Public Access Counselor), Jim Ehrenberg (Designee for Tracy Barnes, Chief Operating Officer, Office of Technology), Tammy Glickman (designee for Rebecca Holwerda, Commissioner, Department of Administration), Tamara Hemmerlein (Lay Member / Oversight Committee Vice-Chair), Chandler Lighty (Executive Director of the Indiana Archives and Records Administration / Oversight Committee Secretary), Michael Nossett (Governor's Designee), Jacob Speer (Director of the Indiana State Library / Oversight Committee Chair), Scott Uecker (Professional Journalist / Lay Member).

Members absent: Beth Kelley (Designee for Paul Joyce, State Examiner, State Board of Accounts).

IARA staff in attendance:

Indiana Archives - Claire Horton (Deputy Director), via call-in.

Records Management – Meaghan Fukunaga (Deputy Director), Kara Chinn (Records Management Coordinator), Amy Christiansen (Records Management Liaison), Amy Robinson (Records Analyst).

Guests: None.

2022-02-23-2: NEXT MEETING

The next meeting of the OCPR is scheduled to be held on Wednesday, March 30, 2022, at 10:00 a.m. in Indiana Government Center South, Conference Center Room D.

2022-02-23-3: PREVIOUS MEETING

A motion was made by Tammy Glickman, seconded by Jerry Bonnet, to approve the minutes of the last regular meeting of the OCPR held on Wednesday, January 26, 2022. Motion carried.

2022-02-23-4: DIRECTOR'S REPORT

IARA Executive Director Chandler Lighty submitted the Director's Report previously distributed to the OCPR for review. The report includes a narrative from: Claire Horton (Deputy Director, State Archives), Meaghan Fukunaga (Deputy Director, Records Management), Jackie Swihart (Deputy Director, Administration), Kim Hagerty (Director of the State Imaging and Microfilm Lab), and Samantha Putnam (Director of the State Records Center).

Highlights presented to the Committee:

- All full-time positions at IARA are now filled; the agency will be hiring two interns for the summer.
- Both of the bills that would have affected IARA failed to receive hearings in their assigned committee.
- Michael Nossett has replaced Cynthia Carrasco as IARA's Senior Operations Director.
- The Governor's office will likely issue a press release regarding the new State Archives building location after the current legislative session ends.

2022-02-23-5: OLD BUSINESS

1. New Governor's Designee (letter)

The Oversight Committee on Public Records is in receipt of a letter from Governor Eric Holcomb designating Michael Nossett as his OCPR representative. The OCPR confirms and welcomes Mr. Nossett to the Committee.

2. Forms Management Improvements

While HB 1101 did not pass, IARA is moving forward with changes that will allow Forms Management to be more agile in adapting to state agency business needs. This will be accomplished with new guidelines and training, with the goal of trusting design and revision to the originating agency, and scaling back IARA's involvement to a review and approval role. IARA will renew the attempt to make corresponding updates to the Indiana Code in the next legislative session, and will also work to create an Administrative Rule after the final outcome of current legislation regarding rulemaking becomes clear. The Forms Catalog, created by a third-party vendor in 2009, is also being reviewed with IOT for potential technical improvements, again with the goal of allowing agencies to take more ownership over the forms they create.

Tammy Glickman asked if IARA's goals include reducing the number of official State Forms, or increasing that number by identifying and approving more of the non-official forms being created by agencies. IARA staff explained that retiring forms that are no longer used is a regular part of working with agency Forms Coordinators, and while the direct intent behind the current changes is simply to make the approval process less difficult for agencies to complete, this should also reduce the number of forms created outside of that process.

3. Mailbox Retention Policy

Chandler Lighty noted that the current draft of the policy was presented for review at the previous meeting, and he would like to see a vote on it. Jim Ehrenberg explained that he has had difficulty consulting with IOT colleagues on feasibility aspects due to recent staff turnover, and requested more time to research and provide recommendations. Chandler asked for a timeframe on that.

Jim stated that his main concerns involve the scope of the policy, and he would need much less time to be ready for a vote if that scope were reduced to cover only the email of appointing authorities, with another policy addressing general email to come at a later date.

Next steps: before the next OCPR meeting, Jim will submit proposed revisions and suggestions to IARA Deputy Director Meaghan Fukunaga, who will convene another meeting of the cross-agency taskforce which initiated the policy, for further discussion. Chairperson Jake Speer tabled further discussion of the policy with no objections, until these next steps have occurred and IARA can report back at the next OCPR meeting.

2022-02-23-6: RECORDS RETENTION AND DISPOSITION SCHEDULES (Action needed)

1. County/Local: Public Libraries

A motion was made by Tammy Glickman, seconded by Scott Uecker, to adopt Schedule 1. Motion carried.

2. County/Local: Treasurers

A motion was made by Luke Britt, seconded by Tammy Glickman, to adopt Schedule 2 Motion carried.

- Department of Child Services: Child Support
 A motion was made by Tammy Glickman, seconded by Tamara Hemmerlein, to adopt Schedule 3. Motion carried.
- **4.** Department of Labor: Indiana Occupational Safety and Health Administration (IOSHA) A motion was made by Scott Uecker, seconded by Jerry Bonnet, to adopt Schedule 4. Motion carried.

2022-02-23-7: NEW BUSINESS

1. None.

2022-02-23-8: ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business before the Committee, a motion was made by Tammy Glickman, seconded by Jim Ehrenberg, to adjourn the meeting at 10:25 a.m. Motion carried.